Genealogy Wise

The Genealogy & Family History Social Network

Cheryl Levy PLCGS
  • Female
  • Ontario
  • Canada
Share on Facebook Share

Cheryl Levy PLCGS's Friends

  • Brenda Harrison
  • Ruth McConnell
  • Dianne Tremblay
  • Gaynol Fales
  • Russell Lynn Drysdale
  • Al Dawson
  • Sue de Groot, PLCGS
  • Pat Taylor Jennings
  • Myo
  • Gena Philibert Ortega

Cheryl Levy PLCGS's Groups

Gifts Received

Gift

Cheryl Levy PLCGS has not received any gifts yet

Give a Gift

 

Cheryl Levy PLCGS's Page

Latest Activity

Cheryl Levy PLCGS posted a note

Student Lectures - November 2020

We have three student presentations coming up in November by those taking the "Lecturing Skills including Presentation" course. We hope you can join us to show support to our students presenters. "Newspapers Bring Ancestors Alive" by Arlene Courtney…
11 hours ago
Cheryl Levy PLCGS commented on genealogicalstudies.com's group Australian Records
"REMINDER: Australian Virtual Meeting today!"
Oct 19
Cheryl Levy PLCGS commented on Russell Lynn Drysdale's group Drysdale Archives
"For anyone who would like to download a complete pdf copy of the book: The History of the Johnstones, here is the URL to a copy on Internet Archive: https://archive.org/details/historyofjohnsto00grah. It also provides info for your citation.…"
Oct 19
Cheryl Levy PLCGS joined Russell Lynn Drysdale's group
Thumbnail

Drysdale Archives

 Feel free to make a postWhatever it may be ,a relevant publication , family story,family trees, odds n endsrelevant  information gathered from other publications or sources  remain the property of the author or owners . Sharing Information  people that's where the answer is ..   See More
Oct 19
Cheryl Levy PLCGS commented on Cheryl Levy PLCGS's group Quinte Branch (Ontario Genealogical Society)
"REMINDER: Quinte Branch Zoom Meeting on Saturday, October 17, 2020 at 1 pm EDT. Presentation Title: After You're Gone: Future Proofing Your Genealogy by Presenter: Thomas MacEntee of High-Definition Genealogy Zoom. Registration…"
Oct 16
Cheryl Levy PLCGS commented on genealogicalstudies.com's group General Methodology
"October Virtual Meeting Methodology: The How To Courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega MA, MARTuesday, October 20th – 2:30 PM Eastern; 1:30 PM Central; 12:30 PM Mountain; 11:30 AM Pacific; 7:30 PM in London, England; Wednesday, October…"
Oct 15
Cheryl Levy PLCGS commented on genealogicalstudies.com's group American Records
"October Virtual Meeting American Records courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega MA, MARTuesday, October 20th – 10 AM Eastern; 9 AM Central; 8 AM Mountain; 7 AM Pacific; 3 PM in London, England; Wednesday, October 21st – 1 AM in Sydney,…"
Oct 15
Cheryl Levy PLCGS commented on genealogicalstudies.com's group Australian Records
"October Virtual Meeting Australian Records courses with Kerry FarmerMonday, October 19th – 7 PM Eastern; 6 PM Central; 5 PM Mountain; 4 PM Pacific; Tuesday, October 20th– Midnight in London, England; 10 AM in Sydney,…"
Oct 15
Cheryl Levy PLCGS commented on genealogicalstudies.com's group English Records
"October Virtual Meeting English Records courses with Brenda Wheeler PLCGSSunday, October 18th – 7 PM Eastern; 6 PM Central; 5 PM Mountain; 4 PM Pacific; Monday, October 19th– Midnight in London, England; 10 AM in Sydney,…"
Oct 15
Cheryl Levy PLCGS commented on genealogicalstudies.com's group Canadian Records
"October Virtual Meeting Canadian Records courses with Cheryl Levy PLCGS Sunday, October 18th – 4 PM Eastern; 3 PM Central; 2 PM Mountain; 1 PM Pacific; 9 PM in London, England; Monday, October 19th – 7 AM in Sydney,…"
Oct 15
Cheryl Levy PLCGS commented on genealogicalstudies.com's group General Methodology
"October Virtual Meeting Methodology: The How To Courses with Brenda Wheeler PLCGSFriday, October 16th – 6 PM Eastern; 5 PM Central; 4 PM Mountain; 3 PM Pacific; 11 PM in London, England; Saturday, October 17th – 9 AM in Sydney,…"
Oct 15
Cheryl Levy PLCGS posted a note

Virtual Meetings October 2020

Check out the schedule for our FREE Virtual Meetings for October 2020 at The National Institute for Genealogical Studies. Add them to your calendar! #genealogy #skillbuilding #onlineeducation…
Oct 15
Cheryl Levy PLCGS commented on Cheryl Levy PLCGS's group Quinte Branch (Ontario Genealogical Society)
"Quinte Branch Zoom Meeting o Saturday, October 17, 2020 at 1 pm EDT.Title: After You're Gone: Future Proofing Your GenealogyPresenter: Thomas MacEntee of High-Definition Genealogy Have you ever considered what will happen to your years of…"
Oct 5
Cheryl Levy PLCGS posted a note

Demystifying Culture and Folklore

The Demystifying Culture and Folklore course encourages students to explore their primary cultures (race, ethnicity, nationality) and their subcultures (religion, family, occupations, etc.), to determine how these have influenced their ancestors’…
Sep 29
Cheryl Levy PLCGS commented on Lesley Day's group British Home Children
"Remembering over 100,000 British Children sent to Canada, Australia, New Zealand, and South Africa.British Home Child Day is on September 28th in Canada. https://www.ola.org/.../parliament-39/session-2/bill-12Home Children, 1869-1932…"
Sep 28
Cheryl Levy PLCGS joined Lesley Day's group
Thumbnail

British Home Children

For those researching family members who were known as British Home Children who were shipped to Canada, Australia and New Zealand.Feel free to discuss your experiences about trying to trace these children.See More
Sep 28

Profile Information

What surnames are you interested in researching?
Martin, Farnell, Stewart, Watt, Fisher, and many more
What countries and other locations are you interested in researching?
Nova Scotia and Colonial New England
What is your level of genealogy knowledge?
Advanced Family History Researcher
For what reason did you start genealogy research?
to find out more about my family

Cheryl Levy PLCGS's Blog

What is a Cousin?

Cousins have unique relationships in our family history research. When is a cousin more than a cousin? What kind of cousin are they? How do I figure out those specific relationships? With the rise in popularity of DNA testing and the resulting match lists, we need to know how we relate to individuals beyond saying, "This is my cousin."

A good…

Continue

Posted on March 11, 2020 at 3:00pm

Celebrating the Ladies in our Research

Researching the women in our family history can be a challenge. However, don’t leave them out! Our female ancestors often played significant roles in history, both in our families and in their communities.

Researching and writing about the women in our family history can be a daunting task. If you have hit a brick wall in the quest to…

Continue

Posted on March 8, 2020 at 11:00am

Comment Wall (6 comments)

You need to be a member of Genealogy Wise to add comments!

Join Genealogy Wise

At 6:52pm on April 18, 2020, Brenda Harrison said…

Hi Cheryl

I descend from Timothy Houghton & Eunice Whitcomb, early settlers in Chester NS. Their child married a Webber who was also an early settler in Chester. Are we a match. My email is chicoyne19@gmail.com

Brenda

At 9:30am on February 25, 2020, Myo said…

I don't think I am from your Fishers but am interested in Ontario Canada records

At 7:35pm on December 15, 2011, Jim Avery said…

Hi Cheryl - I see you are related to the Perry Family. My last name is Avery but my DNA says I am really a Perry. I was wondering if you have ever seen the Avery name in with the Perrys. These Perrys in question were from Watertown Massachuisetts at one time. I don't think I was adopted.

At 7:21am on November 9, 2011, Pat Taylor Jennings said…

Cheryl, you might have to friend me on Facebook so I can add you to the Descendants pages.  You can search for me by name or e-mail.  Pat Taylor Jennings or busybee1952@hotmail.com.  FB has me really confused these days!

At 7:09am on November 9, 2011, Pat Taylor Jennings said…

Heather found some more info on the Fishers:

 
Elizabeth TAYLOR Fisher had a sister Esther Fisher. She married WENTWORTH TAYLOR son of John TAYLOR & Agnes ( aka Nancy )  Archibald.  ( This is Ed Taylor's line. He just lives about 10 minutes from my place. )
 
 
John Fisher s/o William gr-s/o John and his wife Elizabeth Cowley/ latest info says COPLEY had the following children:
        1. Isiah  aka Josiah Fisher b. Sept. 1764  Truro
        2. Sarah Milliken Fisher b. 25 June 176_
        3. Eleanor Fisher b. 14 Feb 1767
        4. Janet Fisher  b. 5 July 1769
        5. Margaret Fisher  b. 22 Aug. 1771 m. George FARNELL   ( had 12 children )
        6. Elizabeth TAYLOR Fisher b. 29 June 1775  m. Alexander Stewart
        7. William Handcock Fisher  b. 25 June 1777
        8. Hannah Fisher  b. 27 Aug 1779
        9. Ruth Fisher  b. 29 July 1781
    10. George S. Fisher b. 10 Dec. 1783
      11. Esther Fisher  b. about 1784  m. Wentworth TAYLOR  s/o John & Agnes
    12. Robert Archibald Fisher b. 28 April 1790
 

At 1:06pm on November 8, 2011, Pat Taylor Jennings said…
John Fisher ( #1 )  b. 2 Dec. 1675 & wife Sarah (unknown) had a son, Samuel Fisher who m .AGNESTAYLOR d/o Matthew & Janet TAYLOR Agnes was 1 of Samuel's 3 wives and she died early in their marriage.  Perhaps the "TAYLOR" comes from her.  Samuel was the brother of WILLIAM FISHER who m. Eleanor Archibald.
 
Margaret Fisher d/o William Fisher & Eleanor Archibald m. John Archibald 2nd . His parents were Samuel Archibald & ELEANOR TAYLOR. Another TAYLOR connection.
 
I, too, am a direct descendent of ELIZABETH TAYLOR FISHER through her marriage to ALEXANDER STEWART . She was actually b. 29 June 1775 in Truro.
 
ESTHER TAYLOR FARNELL was the d/o James Farnell & Sarah Gammell Stewart ...Sarah G. Stewart was the d/o Alexander & Elizabeth TAYLOR Fisher.
I descend through Sarah Gammell Stewart's brother, Archibald Stewart
 
Note: James Farnell, ESTHER'S father, was the son of MARGARET FISHER & George Farnell. Margaret was the d/o John Fisher & Elizabeth Cowley/Copley. She was Elizabeth TAYLOR Fisher's sister.
 
Sooo, relations intermarry & the TAYLOR names travels along with cousins, aunts, uncles etc.  A tangled web.
 
Heather
The above information comes from a good friend and cousin in reply to your post on my page.  She said I could share her e-mail address with you if you are interested.  Please let me know if you would like that information.  Also, there is a facebook page called "Descendants of Matthew and Janet Taylor".  Just search for the group and it's free to join, if you want.  
All the best!
Pat

 
 
 

Members

Badge

Loading…

© 2020   Created by Nat Ins for Genealogical Studies.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service