Genealogy Wise

The Genealogy & Family History Social Network

Information

American Records

This group is for students taking courses or working on the Certificate for American Records from The National Institute for Genealogical Studies.

Website: https://www.genealogicalstudies.com/eng/courses.asp?certificateID=10
Members: 167
Latest Activity: Nov 21

Discussion Forum

Introducing myself 4 Replies

My name is Laurel Brown and I live in Indian Trail, NC just outside of Charlotte. I started doing genealogy over 40 years ago, but have had many starts and stops along the way. Over the last few…Continue

Started by Laurel Page Brown. Last reply by Gaynol Fales PLCGS Sep 30.

Thank you for adding me. 5 Replies

Thank you for adding me. I am just learning about Genealogy Wise in the social media class. I am Mary Mitchell. I am 41. Between my husband and I we have eight girls. They are ages 21 to 10. I will…Continue

Started by Mary Jane Mitchell. Last reply by Sara N Martin Apr 13.

thank you

Thank you for adding me to this group.Continue

Started by Patricia Desmond Biallas Jul 15, 2016.

Basic Level Courses 3 Replies

Feel free to ask questions or post comments here about the Basic  Level Courses you are taking.Continue

Started by genealogicalstudies.com. Last reply by Cin Hawse Jan 16, 2012.

Comment Wall

Comment

You need to be a member of American Records to add comments!

Comment by Sara N Martin on December 23, 2020 at 12:10am

Hello - I've been taking two courses this fall/winter - Social Media Tools for the Wise Genealogist and Google for the Wise Genealogist.  I would like to be a professional genealogist and I like having a social media presence.  Some of the secondary sources that I have started looking at are genealogical society journals.  I am a member of quite a few genealogy societies and I appreciate it when they have pdf copies of their society journals dating back many years.  It's taking me quite a while to actually review all of them (I may never finish!) but I have learned some interesting things I will be following up on.

Comment by Cheryl Levy PLCGS on December 7, 2020 at 2:58am

December Virtual Meeting
American Records courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega MA, MAR
Saturday, December 12th – 12 Noon EST; 11 AM CST; 9 AM PST; 5 PM in London, England; Sunday, December 13th – 4 AM in Sydney, Australia   
MEETING LOCATION: 
https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
These sessions are FREE and you do not have to be a current or past student to attend. NO USER NAME or PASSWORD REQUIRED. Please type in your first name and surname initial, along with your geographic location; then click “Enter as a Guest”

Comment by Cheryl Levy PLCGS on November 7, 2020 at 8:55pm

November Virtual Meeting
American Records courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega MA, MAR
Tuesday, November 17th – 6:30 PM Eastern; 5:30 PM Central; 4:30 PM Mountain; 3:30 PM Pacific; 11:30 PM in London, England; Wednesday, November 18th – 10:30 AM in Sydney, Australia 
MEETING LOCATION: 
https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/

These sessions are FREE and you do not have to be a current or past student to attend. NO USER NAME or PASSWORD REQUIRED. Please type in your first name and surname initial, along with your geographic location; then click “Enter as a Guest”

Comment by Cheryl Levy PLCGS on October 15, 2020 at 12:39pm

October Virtual Meeting
American Records courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega MA, MAR
Tuesday, October 20th – 10 AM Eastern; 9 AM Central; 8 AM Mountain; 7 AM Pacific; 3 PM in London, England; Wednesday, October 21st – 1 AM in Sydney, Australia   
MEETING LOCATION: 
https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/

These sessions are FREE and you do not have to be a current or past student to attend. NO USER NAME or PASSWORD REQUIRED. Please type in your first name and surname initial, along with your geographic location; then click “Enter as a Guest”

Comment by Cheryl Levy PLCGS on September 11, 2020 at 12:31am

September Virtual Meeting
American Records courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega MA, MAR
Saturday, September 19th – 9 AM Eastern; 8 AM Central; 7 AM Mountain; 6 AM Pacific; 2 PM in London, England; 11 PM in Sydney, Australia 
MEETING LOCATION: https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/

These sessions are FREE and you do not have to be a current or past student to attend. NO USER NAME or PASSWORD REQUIRED. Please type in your first name and surname initial, along with your geographic location; then click “Enter as a Guest”

Comment by Cheryl Levy PLCGS on August 7, 2020 at 7:27pm

August Virtual Meeting

American Records courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega MA, MAR
Tuesday, August 11th
– 6 PM Eastern; 5 PM Central; 4 PM Mountain; 3 PM Pacific; 11 PM in London, England; Wednesday, August 12th – 8 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION:
https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/

These sessions are FREE and you do not have to be a current or past student to attend. NO USER NAME or PASSWORD REQUIRED. Please type in your first and last name, along with your geographic location; then click “Enter as a Guest”

Comment by Cheryl Levy PLCGS on July 27, 2020 at 8:35pm

Reminder for July American Virtual Meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega on Tuesday, July 28th – 9 AM EDT. MEETING LOCATION: https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/

Comment by Gaynol Fales PLCGS on July 14, 2020 at 12:04pm

Melissa, that funeral collection was interesting. I'm always interested in seeing how different databases display info. It helps me think about different ways I might search for funeral records and also that I can't approach their existence with a negative frame of mind. I really don't know where or what I might find if I don't try.

Comment by Melissa Michele Edwards on July 13, 2020 at 8:27am

I ran across an interesting group of records over the weekend. It is the Atlanta Funeral Homes Program Collection.

Here is the description from the site: Over 3300 funeral programs documenting the funeral services of Georgia residents, primarily from the Atlanta, Georgia area. Most of the programs are from services held during the late twentieth and early twenty-first centuries. A majority of the programs are from churches in the Atlanta, Georgia area, with a few programs from other states such as South Carolina, Tennessee, Florida, Michigan, New Jersey, and New York, among others. The programs typically contain a photograph of the deceased, an obituary, a list of surviving relatives, and the order of service. The collection provides extensive genealogical information about the deceased, including birth and death dates, maiden names, names of relatives, past residences, and place of burial. Alongside this genealogical information, the obituaries provide a rich source of local history.

https://dlg.usg.edu/collection/aarl_afpc

Comment by Cheryl Levy PLCGS on July 9, 2020 at 6:46pm

July American Virtual Meeting

American Records courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega 
Tuesday, July 28th – 9 AM Eastern; 8 AM Central; 7 AM Mountain; 6 AM Pacific; 2 PM in London, England; 11 PM in Sydney, Australia.

MEETING LOCATION: https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/

These sessions are FREE and you do not have to be a current or past student to attend.

Attendees: NO USER NAME or PASSWORD REQUIRED. Please type in your first and last name, along with your geographic location; then click “Enter as a Guest”

 

Members (167)

 
 
 

Members

Badge

Loading…

© 2021   Created by Nat Ins for Genealogical Studies.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service