Genealogy Wise

The Genealogy & Family History Social Network

May 2017 Genealogy Virtual Meetings

The National Institute for Genealogical Studies provides monthly educational genealogy virtual meetings. Everyone is welcome and the meetings are FREE. We have a great line up of virtual meetings coming up in May! Do you have any questions about your  research? Join us for a virtual meeting applicable to your question during May. Even if you don’t have questions you are welcome to just listen, lurk and learn! We don’t mind in the least.

GENEALOGY TIP for May...attend National Institute virtual meetings to learn about interesting and different websites to help you with your research.

Below is the virtual meetings schedule for the month of May. Times given are Eastern Daylight Time. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Saturday, May 6th at 10:00 AM EDT – Canadian Genealogy with Kathryn Lake Hogan
Join Kathryn to ask questions about Canadian research.

Time zones:
Saturday, May 6th - 10:00 AM Eastern; 9:00 AM Central; 7:00 AM Pacific; 3:00 PM in London, England;
Sunday, May 7th - Midnight in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, May 9th at 8:30 PM EDT – Internet Tools with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Join Gena to ask questions about your Internet searches.

Time zones:
Tuesday, May 9th - 8:30 PM Eastern; 7:30 PM Central; 5:30 PM Pacific;
Wednesday, May 10th - 1:30 AM in London, England; 10:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, May 11th at 7:00 PM EDT – Methodology with Gena Philibert-Ortega
This session is appropriate for everyone no matter which country you are researching. Join us to ask questions or to discuss organizing, skill-building, strategies, effective searching and recording, proving it, transcribing, abstracting, extracting, copyright, and much more.

Time zones:
Thursday, May 11th - 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;
Friday, May 12th - Midnight in London, England; 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Monday, May 15th at 11:30 AM EDT – Gena Philibert-Ortega is hosting a student discussion with Shannon Bennett about the US: Occupational Records course.
Ask Shannon about her experience with this course and what she learned.

Time zones:
Monday, May 15th - 11:30 AM Eastern; 10:30 AM Central; 8:30 AM Pacific; 4:30 PM in London, England;
Tuesday, May 16th - 1:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Monday, May 15th at 2:00 PM EDT – DNA with Shannon Bennett
Join Shannon to ask questions about  your DNA research.

Time zones:
Monday, May 15th - 2:00 PM Eastern; 1:00 PM Central; 11:00 AM Pacific; 7:00 PM in London, England;
Tuesday, May 16th - 4:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/dna/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, May 16th at 4:00 PM EDT – Scottish Research with Sheena Tait
Join Sheena to ask questions about Scottish  research.

Time zones:
Tuesday, May 16th - 4:00 PM Eastern; 3:00 PM Central; 1:00 PM Pacific; 9:00 PM in London, England;
Wednesday, May 17th - 6:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/scottish/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wednesday, May 17th at 4:00 PM EDT – English Genealogy with Brenda Wheeler
Join Brenda to ask questions about English research.

Time zones:
Wednesday, May 17th - 4:00 PM Eastern; 3:00 PM Central; 1:00 PM Pacific; 9:00 PM in London, England;
Thursday, May 18th - 6:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wednesday, May 24th at 8:30 PM EDT – American Genealogy with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Join Gena to ask questions about American research.

Time zones:
Wednesday, May 24th - 8:30 PM Eastern; 7:30 PM Central; 5:30 PM Pacific;
Thursday, May 25th - 1:30 AM in London, England; 10:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Monday, May 29th at 11:00 PM EDT – Methodology with Brenda Wheeler
This session is appropriate for everyone no matter which country you are researching . Join us to ask questions or to discuss organizing, skill-building, strategies, effective searching and recording, proving it, transcribing, abstracting, extracting, copyright, and much more.

This Virtual Meeting is available for the convenience of our Australasia students; however, everyone is welcome to participate! It is applicable to all students no matter what country you are researching in.

Time zones:
Monday, May 29th - 11:00 PM Eastern; 10:00 PM Central; 8:00 PM Pacific;
Tuesday, May 30th - 4:00 AM in London, England; 1:00 PM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LISTEN ON THE GO!
Want to listen to the student presentation but will not be at your computer? No problem! You can download the FREE Adobe Connect Mobile App from the iTunes App Store (for iPod/iPhone/iPad), from Google Play (for Androids), or from Blackberry World (for Blackberry).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

See the calendar of future Virtual Meetings sessions at www.genealogicalstudies.com; in the top menu choose INFORMATION and then VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM in the drop-down menu.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go to www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Last updated by Gena Philibert Ortega May 5.

Members

Badge

Loading…

© 2017   Created by Nat Ins for Genealogical Studies.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service