Genealogy Wise

The Genealogy & Family History Social Network

Do you have any questions about your genealogy research? Join instructors from The National Institute for Genealogical Studies for a virtual meeting applicable to your question during February. Even if you don’t have questions you are welcome to just listen, lurk and learn! 

EXCITING NEWS! We have added a new Virtual Meeting to our line up...Shannon Combs-Bennett will be hosting the DNA virtual meetings. Shannon will be available to answer you DNA questions starting later this month (see below).

Below is the virtual meetings schedule for the month of February. Mark your calendars for sessions applicable to your area of studies or research. Times given are Eastern Standard Time. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Wednesday, February 15th at 8:00 PM EST – Canadian Records with Kathryn Lake Hogan
Join Kathryn to ask questions about Canadian research.

Time zones:
Wednesday, February 15th – 8:00 PM Eastern; 7:00 PM Central; 5:00 PM Pacific;
Thursday, February 16th - 1:00 AM in London, England; Noon in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, February 16th at 6:30 PM EST – American Records with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Join Gena to ask questions about American research.

Time zones:
Thursday, February 16th – 6:30 PM Eastern; 5:30 PM Central; 3:30 PM Pacific; 11:30 PM in London, England;
Friday, February 17th - 10:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION:http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, February 16th at 8:00 PM EST – Internet Tools with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Join Gena to ask questions about your Internet searches.

Time zones:
Thursday, February 16th – 8:00 PM Eastern; 7:00 PM Central; 5:00 PM Pacific;
Friday, February 17th – 1:00 AM in London, England; Noon in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Monday, February 20th at 3:00 PM EST – English Records with Brenda Wheeler
Join Brenda to ask questions about your English research.

Time zones:
Monday, February 20th – 3:00 PM Eastern; 2:00 PM Central; Noon Pacific; 8:00 PM in London, England;
Tuesday, February 21st – 7:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Monday, February 20th at 4:30 PM EST – Methodology with Brenda Wheeler
Join us to ask questions or to discuss organizing, skill-building, strategies, effective searching and recording, proving it, transcribing, abstracting, extracting, copyright, and much more.

Time zones:
Monday, February 20th – 4:30 PM Eastern; 3:30 PM Central; 1:30 PM Pacific; 9:30 PM in London, England;
Tuesday, February 21st - 8:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION:http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, February 21st at 6:30 PM EST – Methodology with Gena Philibert-Ortega
 Join us to ask questions or to discuss organizing, skill-building, strategies, effective searching and recording, proving it, transcribing, abstracting, extracting, copyright, and much more.

Time zones:
Tuesday, February 21st – 6:30 PM Eastern; 5:30 PM Central; 3:30 PM Pacific; 11:30 PM in London, England;
Wednesday, February 22nd – 10:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Saturday, February 25th at 3:30 PM EST – Irish Records with Brenda Wheeler
Join Brenda to ask questions about Irish research.

Time zones:
Saturday, February 25th – 3:30 PM Eastern; 2:30 PM Central; 12:30 PM Pacific; 8:30 PM in London, England;
Sunday, February 26th - 7:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/irish/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, February 28th at 3:00 PM EST – Student discussion with Shannon Combs-Bennett about the US: Newspaper Records course; hosted by Gena Philibert-Ortega
Join Shannon and Gena to ask questions about this course and researching US newspapers.

Time zones:
Tuesday, February 28th – 3:00 PM Eastern; 2:00 PM Central; Noon PM Pacific; 8:00 PM in London, England;
Wednesday, March 1st - 7:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, February 28th at 7:00 PM EST – All DNA courses with Shannon Combs-Bennett
The focus of this Virtual Meeting is the DNA testing process and how DNA can be use in genealogy research. Join Shannon to ask questions about our DNA courses and/or your DNA research.

Time zones:
Tuesday, February 28th – 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;
Wednesday, March 1st - Midnight in London, England; 11:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/dna/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LISTEN ON THE GO!
Want to listen to the student presentation but will not be at your computer? No problem! You can download the FREE Adobe Connect Mobile App from the iTunes App Store (for iPod/iPhone/iPad), from Google Play (for Androids), or from Blackberry World (for Blackberry).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

See the calendar of future Virtual Meetings sessions at www.genealogicalstudies.com; in the top menu choose INFORMATION and then VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM in the drop-down menu.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go to www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop-down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Last updated by Gena Philibert Ortega Feb 10.

Members

Badge

Loading…

© 2017   Created by Nat Ins for Genealogical Studies.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service