Genealogy Wise

The Genealogy & Family History Social Network

April 2017 Genealogy Virtual Meetings

April is a great time to learn more about genealogy! Join instructors with The National Institute for Genealogical Studies and learn more about research and ask questions! Everyone is welcome and best of all these Virtual Meetings are FREE!

We have a great lineup of virtual meetings this month, including a Student discussion, the Australian Virtual Meeting, and the Irish session! Do you have any questions about your  research? Join us for a virtual meeting applicable to your question during April. Even if you don’t have questions you are welcome to just listen, lurk, and learn! We don’t mind in the least.

Below is the virtual meetings schedule for the month of April. Mark your calendars for sessions applicable to your area of studies or research.Times given are Eastern Daylight Time. 

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Monday, April 10th at 1:00 PM EDT – Student discussion with Shannon Bennett about the US: Occupational Records course
Join Shannon to hear her comments and ask questions about this course.

Time zones:
Monday, April 10th - 1:00 PM Eastern; Noon Central; 10:00 AM Pacific; 6:00 PM in London, England;
Tuesday, April 11th - 3:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Monday, April 10th at 7:00 PM EDT – Australian Genealogy with Kerry Farmer
Join Kerry to ask questions about the National Institute's Australian record courses and/or your research.

Time zones:
Monday, April 10th - 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;
Tuesday, April 11th - Midnight in London, England; 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/australian/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, April 11th at 7:00 PM EDT – Irish Genealogy with Brenda Wheeler
Join Brenda to ask questions about the National Institute's  Irish record courses and/or your research.

Time zones:
Tuesday, April 11th - 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;
Wednesday, April 12th - Midnight in London, England; 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION:http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/irish/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, April 20th at 1:00 PM EDT – Internet Tools with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Join Gena to ask questions about your Internet searches.

Time zones:
Thursday, April 20th - 1:00 PM Eastern; Noon Central; 10:00 AM Pacific; 6:00 PM in London, England;
Friday, April 21st - 3:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/internettools/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, April 20th at 2:30 PM EDT – Analysis and Skills Mentoring Program – GENERAL with Gena Philibert-Ortega
This Virtual Meeting is appropriate for students registered in the Analysis and Skills Mentoring courses. Students registered in the Skills: Transcribing, Abstracting, Extracting, Skill-Building: Breaking Down Brick Walls, Skill-Building: Evidence Analysis, and Skill-Building: Nuts & Bolts of Reporting are also welcome to join. Topics for discussion include course procedure, evidence analysis, Genealogical Proof Standard (GPS), citations, ethics, timelines, transcriptions, abstractions, extractions, proof summaries and more.

Time zones:
Thursday, April 20th - 2:30 PM Eastern; 1:30 PM Central; 11:30 AM Pacific; 7:30 PM in London, England;
Friday, April 21st - 4:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/asgeneral/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Thursday, April 20th at 7:00 PM EDT – English Genealogy with Brenda Wheeler
Join Brenda to ask questions about the National Institute's  English record courses and/or your research.

Time zones:
Thursday, April 20th - 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;
Friday, April 21st - Midnight in London, England; 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/english/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Saturday, April 22nd at 7:00 PM EDT – Methodology with Brenda Wheeler
This session is appropriate for everyone no matter which country you are researching in. Join us to ask questions or to discuss organizing, skill-building, strategies, effective searching and recording, proving it, transcribing, abstracting, extracting, copyright, and much more.

Time zones:
Saturday, April 22nd - 7:00 PM Eastern; 6:00 PM Central; 4:00 PM Pacific;
Sunday, April 23rd - Midnight in London, England; 9:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, April 25th at 2:00 PM EDT – Methodology with Gena Philibert-Ortega
This session is appropriate for everyone  no matter which country you are researching in. Join us to ask questions or to discuss organizing, skill-building, strategies, effective searching and recording, proving it, transcribing, abstracting, extracting, copyright, and much more.

Time zones:
Tuesday, April 25th - 2:00 PM Eastern; 1:00 PM Central; 11:00 AM Pacific; 7:00 PM in London, England;
Wednesday, April 26th - 4:00 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/methodology/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, April 25th at 3:30 PM EDT – American Records with Gena Philibert-Ortega
Join Gena to ask questions about the National Institute's American record courses and/or your research.

Time zones:
Tuesday, April 25th - 3:30 PM Eastern; 2:30 PM Central; 12:30 PM Pacific; 8:30 PM in London, England;
Wednesday, April 26th - 5:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Tuesday, April 25th at 6:30 PM EDT – Professional Development with Gena Philibert-Ortega
This Virtual Meeting is more appropriate for students registered in the Professional Development courses, although serious-minded genealogist and those considering starting their own genealogy business are welcome. Discussions at this virtual meeting will be at the advanced level. 

Time zones:
Tuesday, April 25th - 6:30 PM Eastern; 5:30 PM Central; 3:30 PM Pacific; 11:30 PM in London, England;
Wednesday, April 26th - 8:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: http://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/ professional/
(NOTE: No user name or password required. Please type in your first and last name; then click “Enter as a Guest”.)

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

LISTEN ON THE GO!
Want to listen to the student presentation but will not be at your computer? No problem! You can download the FREE Adobe Connect Mobile App from the iTunes App Store (for iPod/iPhone/iPad), from Google Play (for Androids), or from Blackberry World (for Blackberry).

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

See the calendar of future Virtual Meetings sessions at www.genealogicalstudies.com; in the top menu choose INFORMATION and then VIRTUAL LEARNING ROOM in the drop-down menu.

If you have not attended a Virtual Meeting before, read the Instructions available at www.genealogicalstudies.com/instructions.pdf. If this URL does not open, please go to www.genealogicalstudies.com, click on Information in the top menu bar, and then Virtual Learning Room in the drop down menu. The link to the Instructions (in PDF format) will be at the top right of the page (you may need to scroll over to the right side of the page).

Last updated by Gena Philibert Ortega Apr 7.

Members

Badge

Loading…

© 2017   Created by Nat Ins for Genealogical Studies.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service