Genealogy Wise

The Genealogy & Family History Social Network

Information

American Records

This group is for students taking courses or working on the Certificate for American Records from The National Institute for Genealogical Studies.

Website: https://www.genealogicalstudies.com/eng/courses.asp?certificateID=10
Members: 161
Latest Activity: Feb 8

Discussion Forum

thank you

Thank you for adding me to this group.Continue

Started by Patricia Desmond Biallas Jul 15, 2016.

Basic Level Courses 3 Replies

Feel free to ask questions or post comments here about the Basic  Level Courses you are taking.Continue

Started by genealogicalstudies.com. Last reply by Cin Hawse Jan 16, 2012.

Classes 3 Replies

I am interested in taking classes, does anyone know where I should start?Continue

Started by Melissa Harvey. Last reply by Claire Varrieur Butler Nov 15, 2011.

Advanced Level Courses

Feel free to ask questions or post comments here about the Advanced Level Courses you are taking.Continue

Started by genealogicalstudies.com May 2, 2011.

Comment Wall

Comment

You need to be a member of American Records to add comments!

Comment by Cheryl Levy PLCGS on February 8, 2021 at 11:14pm

American Records courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega MA, MAR 
Wednesday, February 17th at 7 PM EST 
Time Zone Convertor: https://www.thetimezoneconverter.com/ 
MEETING LOCATION: 
https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
These sessions are FREE and you do not have to be a current or past student to attend. NO USER NAME or PASSWORD REQUIRED. Please type in your first name and surname initial, along with your geographic location; then click “Enter as a Guest”

Comment by Cheryl Levy PLCGS on January 9, 2021 at 12:16am

January Virtual Meeting
American Records courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega MA, MAR
Wednesday, January 13th at 2 PM EST
Time Zone Convertor: https://www.thetimezoneconverter.com/

MEETING LOCATION: 
https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
These sessions are FREE and you do not have to be a current or past student to attend. NO USER NAME or PASSWORD REQUIRED. Please type in your first name and surname initial, along with your geographic location; then click “Enter as a Guest”

Comment by Gaynol Fales on December 23, 2020 at 9:43am

I think those are great starter courses, Sara. "Google for" was the class I took to test the waters of the Institute. I'm pretty much a geek so I figured if this course could teach me something I didn't know about research then I'd be impressed. Well, I was very impressed. Not so much in "how to search" but how to think about searching with a mindset I hadn't previously adopted, and the tips on how to understand the genealogical importance of the results are outstanding.

I think your practice of reading those old newsletters and journals is time well spent for several reasons. One good use of them is to read through a groups  newsletters to see their specific areas of interest over time and then to create programs on those topics.

Have fun in your studies!

Comment by Sara N Martin on December 23, 2020 at 12:10am

Hello - I've been taking two courses this fall/winter - Social Media Tools for the Wise Genealogist and Google for the Wise Genealogist.  I would like to be a professional genealogist and I like having a social media presence.  Some of the secondary sources that I have started looking at are genealogical society journals.  I am a member of quite a few genealogy societies and I appreciate it when they have pdf copies of their society journals dating back many years.  It's taking me quite a while to actually review all of them (I may never finish!) but I have learned some interesting things I will be following up on.

Comment by Cheryl Levy PLCGS on December 7, 2020 at 2:58am

December Virtual Meeting
American Records courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega MA, MAR
Saturday, December 12th – 12 Noon EST; 11 AM CST; 9 AM PST; 5 PM in London, England; Sunday, December 13th – 4 AM in Sydney, Australia   
MEETING LOCATION: 
https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/
These sessions are FREE and you do not have to be a current or past student to attend. NO USER NAME or PASSWORD REQUIRED. Please type in your first name and surname initial, along with your geographic location; then click “Enter as a Guest”

Comment by Cheryl Levy PLCGS on November 7, 2020 at 8:55pm

November Virtual Meeting
American Records courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega MA, MAR
Tuesday, November 17th – 6:30 PM Eastern; 5:30 PM Central; 4:30 PM Mountain; 3:30 PM Pacific; 11:30 PM in London, England; Wednesday, November 18th – 10:30 AM in Sydney, Australia 
MEETING LOCATION: 
https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/

These sessions are FREE and you do not have to be a current or past student to attend. NO USER NAME or PASSWORD REQUIRED. Please type in your first name and surname initial, along with your geographic location; then click “Enter as a Guest”

Comment by Cheryl Levy PLCGS on October 15, 2020 at 12:39pm

October Virtual Meeting
American Records courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega MA, MAR
Tuesday, October 20th – 10 AM Eastern; 9 AM Central; 8 AM Mountain; 7 AM Pacific; 3 PM in London, England; Wednesday, October 21st – 1 AM in Sydney, Australia   
MEETING LOCATION: 
https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/

These sessions are FREE and you do not have to be a current or past student to attend. NO USER NAME or PASSWORD REQUIRED. Please type in your first name and surname initial, along with your geographic location; then click “Enter as a Guest”

Comment by Cheryl Levy PLCGS on September 11, 2020 at 12:31am

September Virtual Meeting
American Records courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega MA, MAR
Saturday, September 19th – 9 AM Eastern; 8 AM Central; 7 AM Mountain; 6 AM Pacific; 2 PM in London, England; 11 PM in Sydney, Australia 
MEETING LOCATION: https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/

These sessions are FREE and you do not have to be a current or past student to attend. NO USER NAME or PASSWORD REQUIRED. Please type in your first name and surname initial, along with your geographic location; then click “Enter as a Guest”

Comment by Cheryl Levy PLCGS on August 7, 2020 at 7:27pm

August Virtual Meeting

American Records courses with Gena Philibert-Ortega MA, MAR
Tuesday, August 11th
– 6 PM Eastern; 5 PM Central; 4 PM Mountain; 3 PM Pacific; 11 PM in London, England; Wednesday, August 12th – 8 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION:
https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/

These sessions are FREE and you do not have to be a current or past student to attend. NO USER NAME or PASSWORD REQUIRED. Please type in your first and last name, along with your geographic location; then click “Enter as a Guest”

Comment by Cheryl Levy PLCGS on July 27, 2020 at 8:35pm

Reminder for July American Virtual Meeting with Gena Philibert-Ortega on Tuesday, July 28th – 9 AM EDT. MEETING LOCATION: https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/american/

 

Members (161)

 
 
 

Members

Badge

Loading…

© 2021   Created by Nat Ins for Genealogical Studies.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service