Genealogy Wise

The Genealogy & Family History Social Network

Information

Canadian Records

This group is for students taking courses or working on the Certificate for Canadian Records from The National Institute for Genealogical Studies.

Website: https://www.genealogicalstudies.com/eng/courses.asp?certificateID=23
Members: 123
Latest Activity: 10 hours ago

Discussion Forum

Basic Level Courses 5 Replies

Feel free to ask questions or post comments here about the Basic  Level Courses you are taking.Continue

Started by genealogicalstudies.com. Last reply by Gena Philibert Ortega Mar 9, 2016.

Advanced Level Courses 2 Replies

Feel free to ask questions or post comments here about the Advanced Level Courses you are taking.Continue

Started by genealogicalstudies.com. Last reply by Gena Philibert Ortega Jun 4, 2012.

Intermediate Level Courses

Feel free to ask questions or post comments here about the Intermediate Level Courses you are taking.Continue

Started by genealogicalstudies.com. Last reply by genealogicalstudies.com May 2, 2011.

Comment Wall

Comment

You need to be a member of Canadian Records to add comments!

Comment by Brian Charles Maclachlan 10 hours ago

Hi Adina

I started studying the same way on Scottish and Australian courses and kept on with other courses I found of interest. I have now completed about 150 courses learning much about the countries and my ancestry. I have almost completed the Canadian certificate and just graduated with the Eastern European certificate. I found the American and Canadian courses more involved as I hadn't completed much research on ancestors from these areas. However, I continue my studies basically because I enjoy it and you can take your time.

Good luck

Brian

Comment by Adina Newman 12 hours ago

Hi All. I'm signed up for Research: Canadian Ancestors and will also be signing up for Research: French-Canadian Ancestors. I've been considering whether or not I'd like to pursue a certificate, and I vacillate between Canada and Eastern Europe. My mother-in-law is 100% French-Canadian (and therefore my kids' heritage) and I tend to have a lot of clients that take me back to Canada, so looking forward to learning more.

Comment by Brian Charles Maclachlan on June 4, 2020 at 2:13am

Hi Cheryl and Thistle

thanks to both of you for the best wishes. As far as the surgery goes it is just another simple step in returning my body to my teenage days. The hips are fine and looking forward to getting back to the sessions with the tennis coach each week.

As to the impact of the surgery on my current courses I am pretty happy that I will complete them both within the time limit as I don't have any courses scheduled for July and I am hopeful I will have the majority, if not all, assignments completed before surgery by spending between five and seven hours a day on the courses. The important thing for me apart from learning things to help my research is to maximise the enjoyment I get from the study and interaction with students who become friends such as Thistle.

We should always remember that we never stop learning while we live but teach forever as an ancestor so don't waste your short holiday called life.

cheers 

Brian

Comment by Thistle Anderson on June 4, 2020 at 1:53am

I can actually do this one and I am really looking forward to it.

Brian - good luck with your surgery. I found the Wills & Estates 2 Exam the toughest one to date and my lowest mark. I learned so much in this course, now I just need the time to apply it.

Comment by Cheryl Levy PLCGS on June 4, 2020 at 1:32am

Good luck with your surgery Brian. Let the office know if you need more time to complete your courses. I found the Canadian Wills & Estates courses challenging! but I learned a lot and it motivated me to look for wills for my own family. I was surprised to find some! New resources always stretch us and require us to dig in and build our research skills. Keep going! :)

Comment by Brian Charles Maclachlan on June 4, 2020 at 1:23am

Hi Cheryl

i am afraid I am in recovery from surgery at the time of the meeting so won't be able to attend the meeting. This is a pity but cannot be avoided. Meanwhile my Canadian courses continue and at the moment finding the Wills and Estate Part 2 case studies actually helping me with the course although I find the notes a little disjointed with the subject matter of some studies. Never mind, I have found them useful and should help when my research clearly identifies any Canadian ancestors.

cheers to all.

Briam

Comment by Cheryl Levy PLCGS on June 4, 2020 at 12:59am

June Virtual Meeting

Canadian courses with Cheryl Levy
Time zones: Thursday, June 11th – 7:30 PM Eastern; 6:30 PM Central; 5:30 PM Mountain; 4:30 PM Pacific; Friday, June 12th12:30 AM in London, England; 9:30 AM in Sydney, Australia

MEETING LOCATION: https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/

These sessions are FREE and you do not have to be a current or past student to attend.

Attendees: NO USER NAME or PASSWORD REQUIRED. Please type in your first and last name, along with your geographic location; then click “Enter as a Guest”

Comment by Cheryl Levy PLCGS on May 12, 2020 at 1:06am

May Virtual Meeting

Canadian courses with Cheryl Levy
Time zones: Tuesday, May 12th – 3 PM Eastern; 2 PM Central; 1 PM Mountain; Noon Pacific; 8 PM in London, England; Wednesday, May 13th – 5 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION: https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/

These sessions are FREE and you do not have to be a current or past student to attend.

Attendees: NO USER NAME or PASSWORD REQUIRED. Please type in your first and last name, along with your geographic location; then click “Enter as a Guest”

Comment by Brian Charles Maclachlan on April 3, 2020 at 2:43am

I am from Australia and in the very early stages of locating ancestors in Canada who I know from research mainly in Scotland and Europe migrated to North America  I have found a few ancestors in Canada that my current research is attempting to prove link with the European families.

 As with the United States I expect my lack of knowledge of the history and geography of Canada will require a steep learning curve. Fortunately, I have visited Canada for both work and pleasure and have communication with two of my wife's relatives in Canada. My early preparation on the basic courses have proved encouraging. I expect I will post again.

Comment by Cheryl Levy PLCGS on February 8, 2020 at 12:04pm

You are invited to attend the monthly Canadian Records Virtual Meetings.
You do not need to be a student to attend.

Check the schedule on the National Institute for Genealogical Studies website
under "Information" > Virtual Learning Room" : https://www.genealogicalstudies.com

For a list of this month's chat sessions with time zones - see "Note" section on the top of the "Main" GenealogyWise homepage.

 

Members (123)

 
 
 

Members

Badge

Loading…

© 2020   Created by Nat Ins for Genealogical Studies.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service