Genealogy Wise

The Genealogy & Family History Social Network

Information

Canadian Records

This group is for students taking courses or working on the Certificate for Canadian Records from The National Institute for Genealogical Studies.

Website: https://www.genealogicalstudies.com/eng/courses.asp?certificateID=23
Members: 125
Latest Activity: Jan 9

Discussion Forum

Basic Level Courses 5 Replies

Feel free to ask questions or post comments here about the Basic  Level Courses you are taking.Continue

Started by genealogicalstudies.com. Last reply by Gena Philibert Ortega Mar 9, 2016.

Advanced Level Courses 2 Replies

Feel free to ask questions or post comments here about the Advanced Level Courses you are taking.Continue

Started by genealogicalstudies.com. Last reply by Gena Philibert Ortega Jun 4, 2012.

Intermediate Level Courses

Feel free to ask questions or post comments here about the Intermediate Level Courses you are taking.Continue

Started by genealogicalstudies.com. Last reply by genealogicalstudies.com May 2, 2011.

Comment Wall

Comment

You need to be a member of Canadian Records to add comments!

Comment by Cheryl Levy PLCGS on January 9, 2021 at 1:31am

January Virtual Meeting
Canadian Records courses with Cheryl Levy PLCGS

Saturday, January 23rd at 10 AM EST
Time Zone Convertor: https://www.thetimezoneconverter.com/

MEETING LOCATION: 
https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/
These sessions are FREE and you do not have to be a current or past student to attend. NO USER NAME or PASSWORD REQUIRED. Please type in your first name and surname initial, along with your geographic location; then click “Enter as a Guest”

Comment by Cheryl Levy PLCGS on December 7, 2020 at 3:01am

December Virtual Meeting
Canadian Records courses with Cheryl Levy PLCGS

Tuesday, December 15th – 7 PM EST; 6 PM CST; 4 PM PST; Wednesday, December 16th – 12 Midnight in London, England; 11 AM in Sydney, Australia 
MEETING LOCATION: 
https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/
These sessions are FREE and you do not have to be a current or past student to attend. NO USER NAME or PASSWORD REQUIRED. Please type in your first name and surname initial, along with your geographic location; then click “Enter as a Guest”

Comment by Cheryl Levy PLCGS on November 7, 2020 at 9:00pm

November Virtual Meeting
Canadian Records courses with Cheryl Levy PLCGS
Wednesday, November 18th – 9 AM Eastern; 8 AM Central; 7 AM Mountain; 6 AM Pacific; 2 PM in London, England; 1 AM in Sydney, Australia   
MEETING LOCATION: 
https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/

These sessions are FREE and you do not have to be a current or past student to attend. NO USER NAME or PASSWORD REQUIRED. Please type in your first name and surname initial, along with your geographic location; then click “Enter as a Guest”

Comment by Cheryl Levy PLCGS on October 15, 2020 at 11:35am

October Virtual Meeting
Canadian Records courses with Cheryl Levy PLCGS

Sunday, October 18th – 4 PM Eastern; 3 PM Central; 2 PM Mountain; 1 PM Pacific; 9 PM in London, England; Monday, October 19th – 7 AM in Sydney, Australia   
MEETING LOCATION: 
https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/

 These sessions are FREE and you do not have to be a current or past student to attend. NO USER NAME or PASSWORD REQUIRED. Please type in your first name and surname initial, along with your geographic location; then click “Enter as a Guest”

Comment by Jacquie Jones Vickers on September 25, 2020 at 10:12am

Thanks for posting this Cheryl. It's a fantastic tool for Canadian place names! 

Comment by Cheryl Levy PLCGS on September 24, 2020 at 2:00pm
Query the Canadian Geographical Names Data Base (CGNDB).
This is an interesting Research Tool. Many times we find similar places names. This may solve your #familyhistory mystery!
Click "Query by Geographical Name" and then enter your place name. Try the several filter options available as well.
Comment by Cheryl Levy PLCGS on September 10, 2020 at 11:47pm

September Virtual Meeting
Canadian Records courses with Cheryl Levy PLCGS 
Monday, September 14th – 7 PM Eastern; 6 PM Central; 5 PM Mountain; 4 PM Pacific; Tuesday, September 15th – Midnight in London, England; 9 AM in Sydney, Australia 
MEETING LOCATION: https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/

These sessions are FREE and you do not have to be a current or past student to attend. NO USER NAME or PASSWORD REQUIRED. Please type in your first name and surname initial, along with your geographic location; then click “Enter as a Guest”

Comment by Cheryl Levy PLCGS on August 8, 2020 at 2:02pm

Hi Brian 

I am glad you are enjoying the Canadian courses! I too have learned so much by taking them. There is so much we can glean from any of the courses to apply to our research, no matter where we are searching. Every course has added things I didn't know that I didn't know! Even though we don't have a direct family connections to an area or a specific historical event, we can see how it impacted our history as a whole - whether for a region or a country. I have a deeper understanding now of how it all worked together to become how it is now. I have a different perspective on many things. The courses inspire us to dig deeper to find out - the rest of the story! :)

Comment by Brian Charles Maclachlan on August 8, 2020 at 1:41am

Hi Cheryl

While I plan to attend the August virtual meeting I am close to finalising my answers to my final three Canadian courses. I found my lack of knowledge of both Canadian history and geography along with a lack of identified ancestors from Canada made the study a little more difficult but still enjoyable. The knowledge gained from the studies will definitely assist me with my current research that is looking for connecting UK/European ancestors to North America and ancestors/relatives I have found in both Canada and the USA to the ancestors across the Atlantic.

I must admit that my six years of study with NIGS has been very enjoyable as well as a great learning journey which was supported by the enthusiastic friendly staff including Louise, Sue, the lecturers and yourself. I look forward to returning to any new courses on Scotland and Italy when these are scheduled.

keep safe and well.

Brian 

Australia

Comment by Cheryl Levy PLCGS on August 7, 2020 at 7:28pm

August Virtual Meeting
Canadian Records courses with Cheryl Levy PLCGS
Wednesday, August 12th
– 1 PM Eastern; 12 PM Noon Central; 11 AM Mountain; 10 AM Pacific; 6 PM in London, England; Thursday, August 13th – 3 AM in Sydney, Australia
MEETING LOCATION:
https://genealogicalstudies.adobeconnect.com/canadian/

These sessions are FREE and you do not have to be a current or past student to attend. NO USER NAME or PASSWORD REQUIRED. Please type in your first and last name, along with your geographic location; then click “Enter as a Guest”

 

Members (125)

 
 
 

Members

Badge

Loading…

© 2021   Created by Nat Ins for Genealogical Studies.   Powered by

Badges  |  Report an Issue  |  Terms of Service