Genealogy Wise

The Genealogy & Family History Social Network

I've been researching my family history for more than 30 years. My Canadian research has been limited to Ontario, primarily the Hamilton-Wentworth area. By no means am I an expert but I'm pretty familiar with what type of records are available to anyone researchig in this area.

Views: 1587

Replies to This Discussion

I am based in London, Ontario. My family can be found mainly in Elgin and Middlesex County's. I have gone further afield as one of my great grandmothers was from a Pennsylvania Mennonite family. As well, my direct ancestor's brother immigrated to Michigan and I have done some research there. Sooner or later I will need to go on a research trip to England, Cornwall, and Scotland to see what I can dig up there.
I am researching mainly early Ontario, Quebec and the maritimes. I am currently researching the UE Loyalists in Upper Canada and early pioneers in Essex County.
I'm researching the family of Jonathan Wade who came to the Long Point settlement in Upper Canada (Ontario) in 1798; also that of his wife Elizabeth Sovereign/Sovereen, daughter of Jacob the tavern-keeper.
Hi - my friend and boss is an Ouderkirk, with I am sure, ties to Nova Scotia, if I recall. If you like, send me your email and I will have her get in contact with you.
Take care,
Wendy
I'm researching my husband's parternal lines, primarily in Russell, Prescott, Carleton counties in Ontario, with some overlap into Quebec.
My husband's family is from Prescott County mostly, what names are your searching?
Sometime in the early 1900's my great-grandfather, Richard Oldford, and his wife Dora Jane (Rowsell) moved to Pictou County, Nova Scotia. Prior to this they called Newfoundland home; he from Elliston (formerly Bird Island Cove) and she from Point Leamington.

I'm also researching my Rideout roots as well which originated in Twillingate, NL.